Join now - be part of our community!

power issue

wulber62
Explorer

power issue

Help please

I got a sony vio fit 14e touchscreen yesterday

I set it up and registered it i then closed it down today i plugged in the charger went to switch the laptop on but it would not power up and no lights are on i removveed the charger and tried to power uo through the battery which was fully charged but still wont power up i then tried removing the battery and power uo through the charger but it still wont power up.

Have i put the system into hibernation if so how can i get laptop running again or is this a major fault that will require replacment.

I am no expert with computors but a brand new laptop faulty after an hour is not good

Any help would be much appriciated please

Thanks

Willie 

7 REPLIES 7
profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

Hi Willie and welcome.

Unfortunately, it sounds like a power problem.

You can try disconnecting all power (AC and battery) and hold lown the power button for 30 seconds.  This may discharge any static electricity.

If this does not work, I would take it back to the vendor for an exchange.

:slight_frown:

wulber62
Explorer

thanks have tried the usal self help things but no joy

what i have noticed is that the green light on the ac charger stays on for a good 30/40 seconds after removed from the mains electric socket and it is also cold could the a/c be faulty and have caused damage to the laptop either way its going back as a laptop used for half hour then faulty does not give me a lot of confidence in it.

the next issue will be getting it changed just got this through an emploee scheme at work and dont have a clue were to start the complaint with workor sony direct.

Thanks for help

wulber62
Explorer

Does anyone else have any ideas 

Am i being a numpty and missing somthing simple or have i just been unlucky and got a faulty laptop.