Join now - be part of our community!

Couldn't get any clear photo from eclipse red moon DSC-H400

profile.country.GB.title
petloki001
Explorer

Couldn't get any clear photo from eclipse red moon DSC-H400

I am having a lot of trouble (because I am not an expert in photo's) trying to get good images from my camera specially those concerning low light places (like churches, stars, eclipses) so while UI tried unsucessfully of trying to get photos I noticed that the 1st time I pressed the obturator I saw the image I wanted on the small screen but whern I pressed the shutter for real it took the camera a while to respond and then the photo came not as expected because the lenght taken for the camera for taking the foto was too much and the photo came out moved (ghosts) or when I stayed really holding my breath and being steady the foto came "smooth-edged"

So couldn't get any "lunar crater" at all !!!!

Can you recommend me a place where I could learn how to use the camera

I bought it mostly to start my own youtube channel while I am hiking

Best regards

Pet

8 REPLIES 8
profile.country.DE.title
IamNic
Expert

Hello @petloki001,

you were using a long exposure, so the sensor receives enough light - you though shouldn't move the camera at all when doing a long exposure, since movement will cause "light trails".

I recommend to use a tripod and a remote shutter release for such images.

This video explains it very well: 

- Nic

profile.country.GB.title
petloki001
Explorer

Thanks. I'll try

Learning something about a triangle but it seems my camera doesn't allow to chanhe those 3 parqameters at once but just 2 of them depending on the Letter you have selected for oeprating the camera

profile.country.GB.title
petloki001
Explorer

One more thing:

Moon while an eclipse is not really bright !

While pointing at it it seemed ok in the screen ... full of craters and so on
( a little hard to focus though)