Join now - be part of our community!

Internal webcam and microphone suddenly has stopped working!

profile.country.en_GB.title
NL_1979
Visitor

Internal webcam and microphone suddenly has stopped working!

Hi there.  In desperate need of some help….I am not very technical but will do my best to explain. I am working with a VPCCB2MOE with Windows 7 laptop and until this yesterday morning my built in camera and internal microphone seemed to be working perfectly. Until I tried to Skype when I could no longer use the microphone or the webcam – and they are not working on any part of my computer now. Coincidently when I realised webcam was not working on Skype I switched my webcam on via Webcam Companion 4 to check it, the software did update but I am pretty sure it wasn’t working before this.  And when I use the webcam via this programme it says “webcam not found” So it’s like they are not even recognised by the computer, as I do not see them under the device manager- although I don’t really know what I am exactly looking for - however they are definitely still integrated into my screen 😉 Having read somewhere it may help, I have even uninstalled and reinstalled Skype but that is not help either.

Do I need reinstall driver or…?? I did have a critical blue screen thing a couple of weeks ago but the computer recovered from that seemingly well and I have been able to use Skype since. And I did also get a message a couple of weeks ago saying one of my USB’s had stopped working but in my naivety, I didn’t think my camera and microphone had anything to do with USBs?  I am also concerned there is something bigger going on with my computer other than the webcam and microphone not working (however annoying that it in its own right). Has one even got anything to do with another?  Please can some help with this issue? I have gone through advice in other forums but nothing has really helped.  Many thanks in advance.  

6 REPLIES 6
profile.country.GB.title
rich912
Contributor