Join now - be part of our community!

NEX-5N recommended settings (I’m having problems)

profile.country.en_GB.title
allitca
Visitor

NEX-5N recommended settings (I’m having problems)

I have recently upgraded my NEX-5 to the NEX-5N (18-55mm).
By looking at the stats and reviews the upgrade to the NEX 5N should deliver
better picture quality, flexibility and ability. I’m no professional photographer
therefore shoot in the best quality JPEG usually in the auto mode (green
camera) with standard settings, only occasionally doing tweaking the settings
for some scenes.

I have had the upgrade for a about a month now, but only
took it out for a good testing recently. Shooting in standard mode turned out
to be extremely poor, there is a fuzz in every 8 out of 10 pictures, and I am
sure I was getting the focus correct, fuzz mainly came out on peoples faces.
The colouring was looks poor too, the pictures don’t look real in comparison to
my previous shots with the NEX 5 which has been joy. I am really regretting the
upgrade at the moment, but I still don’t understand the reason to why the
camera has received outstanding reviews. I must have a faulty unit / use the
wrong settings. Surely a newer version of a camera must be better than the
previous.

Any advice on the settings? Kind of hoping there’s a new
firmware update on the way which will cure my problems, though saying that, it
is very doubtful due to the release of NEX 5R

1. P.S some pictures can be uploaded to demonstrate what I
    mean. Just let me know if that will help, Thanks

Message was edited by: allitca

6 REPLIES 6
Watashiwateshdes
Contributor

Hi

Ideally the best way forward is if you could post some photos since it will give a better idea of what could be going on here. You may wish to try another mode to see if the same happens.