Join now - be part of our community!

Sweets when you were a kid.

profile.country.en_GB.title
helmccur
Visitor

Sweets when you were a kid.

Hi, I am new to Club VAIO but it seems it's all technical stuff on forum. Can anyone remember their fave sweets as a bairn? Mine were splicers ... like a bundle of opal fruits mushed together and flattened into a bar. Also pacers which were like minty chewits. :tongue:

12 REPLIES 12
profile.country.GB.title
lyapple
New

Pineapple chunks; mojos; aniseed balls (Jumpy, behave :smirk: ); and penny bars of Cadbury’s chocolate. My dad used to sometimes bring me a few penny bars on a Friday night when he came in from work and it was such a treat. Chocolate has never tasted so good since.

And welcome Nelly Doll. It's good to have someone posting fun stuff. Don't go. We need you! :slight_smile:

Gibbs-
Visitor

Lol yeah i get what you mean! I almost feel like my questions are too dumb to post haha
Fave sweets were probably Fruit Pastells, but skittles, spogs, and chocolate was (and still is) always good lol

profile.country.GB.title
Blencogo
Expert

Hi Nelly Doll and welcome.

Most sweets came from big glass jars when I was a kid - in fact you needed a Ration Book until I was about 5 years old.

It was the original 'pick-n-mix'. Most sweets like Blackjacks, Fruit Salads, Raspberry Drops, Gobstoppers, Sherbet Lemons, Shrimps or Toffees were ¼d (a farthing) each (four for an old penny) or things like Pontefract Cakes, Liquorice Allsorts, Hundreds-and-Thousands or Dolly Mixtures were sold in little white paper bags 'by the ounce' - I think 2oz. cost 1½d (a penny-halfpenny).

Wrigleys Chewing Gum came in little square packets of four lozenges and a new Wrigleys 'Juicy Fruity' Chewing Gum variety was popular for 1½d each.