Join now - be part of our community!

Xperia Z2 Styus query

SOLVED
kickstand
Visitor

Xperia Z2 Styus query

Hi folks, I have a silly question really, as I am new to Sony, only picked up my new Xperia on Friday and still getting to grips with it. None of my previous stylus appear to work at "all" which seems strange as they are fine on my IPAD 2 and Samsung Note 2 and Note 3? I use a lot of productivity Apps requiring a stylus and my finger will not suffice as I really need precision. I checked out a lot of reviews prior to selecting Sony and none of them mentioned stylus compatibility issues. Appreciate if someone could advise what stylus works with this tablet. Cheers
17 REPLIES 17
SergioPL1
Contributor

Z2 tablet should work with finger-like stylus but due to lower screen sensitivity they are very unreliable on Z2 tablet. Latest 4.4.4 update fixed sensitivity issues using fingers so it should make stylus better but I don't have one at hand to check it out now.

It is incompatible with active styluses like one for Z Ultra, Wacom, Synaptics and others.
kickstand
Visitor

Thanks for the assistance, I am deeply disappointed but such is life. I must be the minority who use productivity Apps. If they have only just resolved finger sensitivity issues I won't hold my breath. Thanks again /K
SergioPL1
Contributor

Hi. Just to be clear. I just checked my old stylus I bought with first iPad. It seems to be doing fine on 23.0.1.A.0.167 firmware. 

I tried on sketch and now typing this post using it. No big difference from phone. Much, much better than on previous firmwares, where it was unusable. 

Here is my stylus for reference: http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/reviews/pc-peripheral/3246740/griffin-stylus-review/

wooly1
Visitor

I am also trying to use a stylus with my Z2 Tablet and confirm that it does not work very well at all.