Join now - be part of our community!

what telephoto lenses can i buy with AF for my Nex 5 using the EA1 adaptor?

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
sheilag52
Visitor

what telephoto lenses can i buy with AF for my Nex 5 using the EA1 adaptor?

the nex 5 200m is way too expensive.

also what other adaptors -if any- are compatible with other brand lenses and do they have AF?

Please help as i am a newbie.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Mick2011
New

Everyone seems to make an 18-200mm 'superzoom' these days, and they all seem to hit the £600 mark. They are, invariably, a great all-in-one solution with only minor image quality tradeoffs for all that convenience. But they are 600 quid...

If you already have a wide zoom, 'kit' lens (18-55 or similar) and don't mind changing between them, 55-200 lenses can complete the 'reach' of the superzoom for a lot less money, often without the quality tradeoff.

Incidentally Canon glass is always going to cost more, be difficult to adapt and (I believe) only be usable as manual focus. The adapter I was thinkning of is cheap but actually intended for A-mount and I'm not sure that would work in conjuction with the EA1. In many ways, the more esoteric adaptors are only a good idea if you want to experiment with lenses you already own. So that suggestion was maybe a non-starter :smileyblush:

The SAL55200 I mentioned is indeed autofocus, using the (preferable) Smooth Autofocus (SAM) motor, and is very compact and lightweight:

http://www.sony.co.uk/product/ddl-aps-c-lenses/sal-55200-2

The only drawback often cited about this is a relatively slow autofocus, due to the adaptor.