Join now - be part of our community!

4K HDR Content on XF9005 Too Dark and colorless, washed out - Pure source.

profile.country.GR.title
Ste571

4K HDR Content on XF9005 Too Dark and colorless, washed out - Pure source.

I have read similar posts about Dark and washed out HDR 4k, (when watched on youtube) but that

did not help my problem.Neither did answer my questions I am not watching 4k on youtube but through an external HDD connected to usb port.

I am new to 4k HDR, and this tv is new and after I tried to play pure , I repeat, "pure" 4k content through usb using the internal tv player, I was really dissapointed.

First of all 4k looks very dark, compared to 1080p (same source) even with the brightest settings I tried. I increased gamma, black, every brightness setting nothing. Its just looks worse and almost unbearable to watch.

Also it looks less colorful than 1080  blu ray and a bit more washed out . I do not understand if there is some setting I must do or if thats how 4k looks like, or it is just the specific model of Sony.

I would appreciate if someone could help . Ty.

25 REPLIES 25
profile.country.GB.title
gcac2828

Just for feedback to to your artical.

We have a Sony 43XE8005 4K Android TV.

Veiwing Smart youtube 4K video's (search 4K video) the results are very good.

Dowloading same 4k video on Desktop PC transfered to USB stick and viewed on TV the results are the same good quality.

profile.country.GR.title
Ste571

I understand your post, but my problem is when 4k is compared to 1080p blue ray.

On 43 inches the differences would be if not non existant at least minimal.

But on 55 inches I would expect to see some improvement from 1080p Blu ray to 4k UHD HDR blu ray.

But its dark, less attractive and even less colorful. I do not understand really what is going on.